Home » allergies

Tagged allergies

Grass Allergy and Grass-Fed Beef

I am very HIGHLY allergic to grass and trees, specifically meadow fescue, which is what grass-fed beef are supposed to be fed on. If I eat grass-fed beef, will I have an allergic reaction to the grass the cattle ate?

Answer:

Its a difficult question to answer, personally my thoughts would be it is unlikely. There is a condition known as pollen food syndrome which can occur in people who are allergic to pollen from trees, grasses or weeds. Pollens from trees, grasses and weeds contain proteins of similar structure to those present in different fruits, vegetables, nuts and spices. These proteins are recognised by the immune system and can trigger an allergic reaction in a susceptible person. However in the case of grass fed beef, the allergenic proteins in grass would be broken down during the digestion process of the cattle eating the grass. These allergens would be broken down to their constituent amino acids and would never make it into the beef itself. Theoretically if these proteins were still able to make it through the digestion process and were still intact in the in the beef, cooking the beef thoroughly at a high temperature would break the structure of the proteins down. Once the allergen (the specific protein structure) has been broken down it will no longer be recognised by the immune system. Examples of this can be found in people with dairy allergies, they cannot drink fresh milk, but once the milk has been boiled (and the allergenic proteins broken down) they have no problem. Of course this does not apply to everyone and this simplistic approach cannot be taken across the board. If you do have severe allergies, I would always suggest discussing with your doctor or allergy specialist, before making any additions to your diet.

Dairy Intolerance

my grandson is gluten and dairy intolerant we need to find dairy free eggs to make omelettes and meatballs for him any thoughts?

Answer:

Is your grandson intolerant of eggs, or does he have an allergy to eggs? If he is intolerant to gluten and dairy, then there is no reason why he cant eat eggs, a dairy intolerance only relates to milk based products, cheeses, creams, yoghurts and any product that has been made or containing those ingredients. If you are making an omelette with whole eggs then this should not be a problem, however if you are using some kind of commercial liquid or powdered omelette mix product, then you need to check the ingredients to make sure they don’t contain any dairy products.

Food allergies

Hi, I was diagnosed with Celiac Disease, Dyspepsia and lactose intolerant. I am very slim for my height, and eat small, limited portions…a lot of things upset my stomach. Well….I JUST found out that I am 4 weeks pregnant, and I am TERRIFIED that I will ‘starve’ the foetus. I have 3 other kids, before I got ill and ate like a horse, literally. My ‘normal’ weight is 118….but I am 110 now…What do I do, what should I eat. The heavier the food the more pain I get…

Answer:

This is a somewhat difficult situation to manage both your conditions and your pregnancy. Firstly I would recommend that you start taking a pre-natal vitamin supplement, so as to ensure that you provide both yourself and your child with valuable nutrients that may be missing from your restricted diet. I can see you already take a multivitamin already however I would swap if it is not a pre-natal formula as regular vitamins often contain much higher doses of vitamins which are not suitable during pregnancy. Make sure to read the label to ensure it is lactose free as occasionally some supplements contain lactose as a filler. Additionally there are two areas you want to focus on regarding your diet, one is regarding avoiding foods that trigger symptoms, and secondly consuming foods that can help calm, and heal the inflammation in your digestive system. Has your doctor provided any guidance on what foods to avoid? If not I have listed some items below which need to avoid. -Avoid Barley Bulgur Durum Farina Graham flour Rye Semolina Spelt Wheat -Avoid unless labelled ‘gluten-free’ Beers Breads Cakes and pies Candies Cereals Cookies Crackers Croutons Gravy Oats Pasta Processed meats and seafood’s Salad dressings Sauces Soups -Allowed Corn Cornmeal Gluten-free flours (rice, soy, corn, potato) Pure corn tortillas Quinoa Rice Tapioca In addition meats, fish and poultry, fruits, potatoes, rice, vegetables are still fine to eat. When buying Gluten free products make sure the label states they were made in an environment free from the items listed in the avoid section above. The first step is in identifying products in your supermarket that you can use as an alternative in your daily diet. For example, rice pasta tastes just as good as regular pasta but is naturally gluten free. You can make your own salad dressing using olive oil and lemon juice instead of commercially made products full of additives. It is a slow process, but having suffered from allergies myself and helped others, you can find alternatives. Secondly you want to introduce foods into your diet that can help reduce the inflammation associated with your conditions. I would suggest that trying peppermint tea which has been shown to be beneficial for both Celiac Disease and Dyspepsia. It relieves upset stomachs by relaxing stomach muscles. also try to introduce fresh ginger into your diet. Ginger has been found to help reduce nausea during pregnancy, help settle upset stomachs but also to have anti-inflammatory effects. The inflammatory response is the common immune reaction to gluten in allergic individuals, so treating this inflammation is important. You can slice fresh ginger and add it to hot water as a drink as well as add it to your cooking. I would also suggest taking an Omega 3 supplement which also helps reduce inflammation as has also been shown to be of benefit to the child’s development during and after pregnancy. Make sure you do not take Cod Liver oil as it contains high levels of Vitamin A and D, Vitamin A in high doses is harmful to both children and adults. When purchasing any items always read the label to ensure they do not contain any other items or ingredients as often additional ingredients are not listed on the front.